First of all, I must say that I am loving the fact that it is mid-July and I get to wear sweatshirts and jeans mist days. It has been anywhere from the 50s to low 70s here in Alaska. I feel bad for all those back in KY (and across the country) who have had multiple days of 100+ degree heat. Let’s get to what has been happening here. I have been busy since the mid-week holiday of July 4.
On Thursday my sister and I had breakfast at Sourdough Sam’s. Rumor has it that when the building burned a family member went back in to get the sourdough starter. My sister had the sourdough pancakes which I tasted and were unique in a good way. I ordered the Belgian waffle with strawberries and whipped cream. Since that was not enough sugar for one day I also got a caramel latte shake from the “farthest north” Cold Stone ice cream store later in the day.
For dinner I made this recipe for baked spaghetti.

Friday involved going to Irasha for sushi and for the third time I got the Mount McKinley roll. I cannot help it-it is just so good that I never want to get anything different. While running errands my sister picked up this:

20120710-095624.jpg
Saturday involved a trip to the Fairbanks Farmers Market! It was quite large and busy which is always a good thing.
My sister found a beautiful bouquet of peonies:

20120710-095744.jpg
We got some veggies and stopped at the honey bakery booth for fresh bread, macaroons, blueberry cake and the most delicious cream rolls which were fresh cream surrounded by homemade waffle cone wrapping.
Later that day my sister made chicken salad

20120710-095941.jpg which contained light and dark meat (from a rotisserie chicken), Italian parsley, mayo, tomato, red onion, sliced almonds, and Parmesan cheese.
I made my favorite pimento cheese

20120710-100110.jpg
I didn’t measure but used freshly grated sharp cheddar, real mayo, cayenne, and diced pimentos. Sometimes I also add diced jalapeƱos for a spicy kick.
Sunday was my brother-in-law’s 30 birthday. My sister made French toast

20120710-100313.jpg.
We celebrated with dinner at Shogun Hibachi Grill and followed with homemade ice cream cake.

20120710-100406.jpg

My brother-in-law and I went on an adventure yesterday but that deserves it’s own post which will come soon.

