I am considering tomorrow the end of summer. I start professional development seminars at my school on Wednesday and then will be in regularly until school starts on August 15. Even though summer is at an end I have had some great last days of vacation. Here is a recap of the last week.

7-20: Still in Alaska-we went out to college town pizza and then returned to Cold Stone with a group where I enjoyed a massive peanut butter combination ice cream in a waffle cone.

7-21: cappuccino in Lulu’s while reading the newspaper. In reading the paper I discovered all about the “ear pulling contest”. After some java my sister and I headed to the farmer’s market. I had to get one more fix of goodies from the nice lady at Honey Bakery. I also got my Fairbanks falafel fix. Pita place seriously has the best. I promptly demolished it in the car, hence the blurry pic.

20120730-212918.jpg<
7-22: my farewell dinner with the group at Lavelle's in downtown Fairbanks. I had the flatbread with rosemary, sweet red onion, and gorgonzola along with a Cesar salad. Dessert was chocolate Kaluha cake. It was good but I must say I liked my sister and brother-in-law's chocolate mousse better. I also had a bite of Creme brûlée.
Tonight was also the day I booked my ticket for a visit over fall break. That is right…I am returning in October!
7-23: marked my first overnight camping trip. My first time in a tent went well and I slept so good! Our destination was at Ophir Creek campground and we had the whole right side of the area to ourselves! Food included wild Alaskan salmon (that BIL caught), corn, s'mores, eggs, biscuits, and bacon.

7-24: back from camping and then headed to the airport for my overnight flight.

20120730-214124.jpg

20120730-214217.jpg

